I have a field in my list in which users will key in year. I wanted it to default to current year. For most entries, this will be valid and users don’t have to type anything additional. I could figure that I have to change the default value from Text to Calculated Value.

Since the eventual value in this field will be a number, I thought I will set this field as number. However, I could not make it work. Eventually I changed this field to text (Single line of Text with maximum number of characters = 4). Then the following formula in the Calculated Value field works:
=TEXT(Today,”YYYY”)

However, I noticed that this default value does not show up if I use Data Sheet view. It only work if someone opens the New Item form by choosing to add individual item. If anyone knows the resolution for the datasheet view, please let me know.

 

